What is the Most Prestigious Awards In India

Prestigious Awards In India

Bhabha award: – It is given for outstanding research contribution in the field of nuclear science. It has been instituted by the Society of Nuclear Medicine in India.

B.C. Roy Award: – The award is given for contributions to sociomedical relief and carries a cash prize of Rs 10,000/- and a medel.

Bharat Ratna: – The Highest civilian award is mad for exceptional service towards the advancement of art, literature and science and in recognition of public service of the highest order.

Gandhi Peace Prize: – The Government has instituted a rupees I corer Peace Prize in the name of Mahatma Gandhi. The Gandhi peace Prize for social Economic and Political Transformation through non – violence will be India’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize and will be given annually to an individual.

Kalidas Award: – The highest national award in the field of classical dance. The award has been instituted by the Government of Madhya Pradesh and carries an amount of Rs.11 lakh in cash and a plaque of honour.

Nehru Literacy Award: – Nehru Literacy Award is given for contribution towards removal of illiteracy among the adult men and woman of India.

Padma vibhushan: The award is made for exceptional and distinguished service in any field. Including service rendered by government servants.

Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri: The Awards of Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri are also made for distinguished service of a high order in any field, including service rendered by Government servants.

Phalks Award: Instituted by the Government of India in memory of Dada Sahab Phalka, founder of the Indian Film Industry and is given to a film personality for most outstanding contribution in this field. Theyaward carries a Swarna kamal a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh and Shawl.

Param Vir Chakra: The Highest decoration for valour it is awarded for the most conspicuous bravery or some daring or prominent act of valour or self-sacrifice in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.

Maha Vir Chakra: The second highest decoration, and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.

Vir Chakra: The third in the order of awards given for acts of gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.

Ashoka Chakra: Awarded for the most conspicuous bravery or some daring or prominent act of valour or self-sacrifice on land, at sea or in the air.

Kalidas Samman: The award created by the Madhya Pradesh Government given annually for excellence, outstanding creativity and dedication in the field or classical music, carries Rs. L lakhs a a certificate of honour.

Arjuna Awards: These awards were instituted in 1961. Named after Arjuna, the great here of the epic Mahabharatham the award is given to sportsmen of the year. The sportsmen are selected by the Sports Federation concerned and the awards are recommended by the all India Council of Sports.

Dronacharya Award was instituted y the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports and games by recognizing the outstanding and meritorious service rendered by sports coaches to achieve excellence and bring glory to the country.

Raja Rajan Award: The award created by the Tamil university, Thanjavur for the best work in Tamil Literature.

Kalinga Prize: International award presented by UNESCO for the popularisation of Science and research to the public. The prize was established by UNESCO in 191. It is an annual international award of 1,000 Pounds based on a grant the UNIESCO by the MR. Biji Patnaik of Orissa. Founder and president of the Kalinga Foundation trust.

Nehru Award: The award was instituted in 1965. It is given every year as a tribute to the memory of the late prime Minister and to his lifelong dedication to the cause of world peace and international understanding. The award carries and amount of Rs. 15 lakhs in cash and a citation.

Pulitzer prize: The winners receive $1000 from a fund set up by publishing magnate, Joseph Pulitzer, in his will. The public service award is the only award that does not carry a cash awad. Instead the winners receive a gold medal. The award is given for international reporting, fiction, journalism and public services.

World Food Prize: the prize sponsored by Kraft General Foods Foundation, is warded each year to an individual for making an outstanding contribution towards improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. Mr. Varghese Kurien who is called “The father of India’s white revolution” launched operation flood.

What do you think?

Written by Empirepages


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


save your eyes from computers

How to save your eyes from computers

best treatment for back pain

How to combat backache